Liberty Medal Recipients

Gallery of Liberty Medal winners. An astonishing amount of recipients have gone on to win the Nobel Peace Prize.

24 photos
Nobel Peace Prize winner the Dalai Lama is set to receive the 2015 Liberty Medal in Philadelphia.
Education advocate Malala Yousafzai took home not only the Liberty Medal in 2014 but also the Nobel Peace Prize.
Hillary Clinton received the 2013 Liberty Medal.
Muhammad Ali was awarded the 2012 Liberty Medal as "a champion of freedom who embodies everything the award was established to honor: individuals of courage and conviction who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe," as stated in a press release by the National Constitution Center.
Getty Images
In 2011, Former U.S. Secretary of Defense Robert Gates awarded the Liberty Medal for his "steadfast commitment to the well-being of our men and women in uniform."
Getty Images
Former British Prime Minister Tony Blair won the 2010 Liberty Medal. Blair has worked to advance peace in Northern Ireland, resolve issues in Kosovo, and better living conditions around the world. Previous winner President Bill Clinton presented Blair with the honor on Monday, Sept. 13.
Getty Images for AFI
Last year's Liberty Medal went to Steven Spielberg.
Getty Images
Former Soviet Union President Mikhail Gorbachev, who won the Liberty Medal in 2008, is pictured here receiving a lifetime achievement award at the Energy Globe Awards at the European Parliament on May 26, 2008.
Getty Images for Tribeca Film Fe
In 2007, Bono won the Liberty Medal in conjunction with DATA (not pictured).
Getty Images
2006 Liberty Medal winners, former presidents George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton, have a photo shoot on the field before Super Bowl XXXIX between the New England Patriots and the Philadelphia Eagles.
Getty Images
Ukrainian President Victor Yushchenko won in 2005.
Getty Images
Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai won in 2004.
Getty Images
Former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor won the Liberty Medal in 2003. President Barack Obama presented the Medal of Freedom to O'Connor in 2009.
Getty Images
U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell received the Liberty Medal in 2002.
Getty Images
Koffi Annan, who also won the Nobel Peace Prize, took home the medal in 2001.
Getty Images
Molecular biologist Dr. James Watson and Dr. Francis Crick (not pictured) won the Liberty Medal in 2000.
Getty Images
Former South Korean President Kim Dae-jung won the Liberty Medal in 1999. He passed away of complications from pneumonia in 2009.
Getty Images
U.S. Sen. George J. Mitchell, Irish peace negotiator, won the medal in 1998.
Getty Images
Former Prime Minister of Israel, Shimon Peres, receives a warm applause during a gala in his honor iin Berlin, Germany. Peres and King Hussein I of Jordan (not pictured) won the honor in 1996.
Getty Images
In 1995, United Nations High Commissioner of Refugees Sadako Ogata won the Liberty Medal.
Getty Images
Former South African President F.W. de Klerk, along with Nelson Mandela (not pictured), won the honor in 1993.
Getty Images
President of Costa Rica Oscar Arias and Médecins sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders) won in 1991.
Getty Images for AFI
The 1990 winner, Jimmy Carter, and 1993 winner, Nelson Mandela, exchange a friendly greeting.
Getty Images
Former Soviet President and former Polish Solidarity leader Lech Walesa won the Liberty Medal in 1989.
Contact Us