Motorists who can't put down their cellphones might face tougher penalties in New Jersey.
The Assembly on Thursday passed a bill that increases penalties for repeat offenders.
First-time offenders would have to pay a fine of $200. Drivers convicted of a second offense within 10 years of the first would have to pay a fine of $400. Motorists convicted of a third and subsequent offenses within 10 years would have to pay a fine of $600 and face driver's license suspension of up to 90 days.
Breaking news and the stories that matter to your neighborhood.
New Jersey is among nine states and the District of Columbia that ban hand-held cell phone use for all drivers. It's also one of 35 states that bans texting for all drivers, along with D.C.
The bill returns to the state Senate.