New Jersey employers would be required to offer paid sick time under legislation being considered in the Legislature.
The Democrat-led state Senate is set to vote Monday on the bill that requires employers to offer workers one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Lawmakers say the legislation will help low-earning workers who can't take a sick day without losing pay.
Employers with fewer than 10 workers must allow them to carry forward no more than 40 hours of paid sick time. For companies with 10 or more workers, it's 72 hours.
Breaking news and the stories that matter to your neighborhood.
Business groups oppose the measure, saying the police will make it difficult to operate in New Jersey.
Four states, Connecticut, California, Massachusetts and Oregon, already required paid sick leave for some workers.