Today's Lineup: Odubel Herrera Leading Off; Andrew Knapp Starts Again

After the Phillies lost the first two games out of the All-Star break to the Brewers, manager Pete Mackanin put together a unique Sunday lineup for the series finale.

Odubel Herrera moves back into the leadoff spot while Daniel Nava bats third. Meanwhile, rookie catcher Andrew Knapp is slotted in the No. 5 hole, the highest he's been in the batting order.

Philadelphia Phillies

Complete coverage of the Fightin' Phils and their MLB rivals from NBC Sports Philadelphia.

Phillies Vs. Nationals: Hector Neris Blows Save, Phils Blow 3 Leads in Loss

Phillies' Dave Dombrowski Defends Joe Girardi Against Nationals GM Mike Rizzo's Comment

Herrera hasn't been atop the lineup since July 1 and has batted leadoff just twice since June 20. The 25-year-old centerfielder has four hits in his last three games with all four going for extra bases, including a home run in each game. He was stranded as the tying run on second base to end Saturday's loss.

Nava has seen himself all over the lineup for the Phillies this season, but this is his first time batting third. He took over the leadoff spot last night with Aaron Altherr (hamstring strain) out. Nava had batted leadoff in his last nine starts. He's just 1 for his last 13 since a three-hit game on July 5.

Batting fifth isn't completely unfamiliar to Knapp, who went 1 for 3 in that spot on May 31. He's making his second start of the series and his seventh since the calendar flipped to July. Previously the backup to Cameron Rupp, Knapp will have started 21 of the Phillies' last 38 games.

The Phillies will oppose veteran Matt Garza, who is making his 14th start of the season. For more on how he matches up with the Phillies, check out Steven Tydings' game notes.

Here's the Phillies lineup that will face Garza

1. Odubel Herrera, CF
2. Freddy Galvis, SS
3. Daniel Nava, LF
4. Maikel Franco, 3B
5. Andrew Knapp, C
6. Tommy Joseph, 1B
7. Nick Williams, RF
8. Ty Kelly, 2B
9. Jeremy Hellickson, P

And the Brewers lineup that takes on Hellickson:

1. Jonathan Villar, 2B
2. Domingo Santana, RF
3. Ryan Braun, LF
4. Travis Shaw, 3B
5. Jesus Aguilar, 1B
6. Manny Pina, C
7. Keon Broxton, CF
8. Orlando Arcia, SS
9. Matt Garza, P

Copyright CSNPhily
Contact Us