Residents Allowed to Return to Hard Hit NJ Shore Towns

Travel bans lifted to some Jersey Shore towns

Getty Images

As power started to return to the Jersey Shore, so did the residents as some of the entry bans were lifted Thursday to barrier islands hit hard by Hurricane Sandy.

Some towns like Ocean City allowed people back on the islands Wednesday with a curfew (7 p.m. to 6 a.m. in Ocean City's case). On Thursday, Gov. Chris Christie announced some Atlantic County cities would be open with curfews as people were allowed back to Brigantine, Margate and Longport while Atlantic City and Ventnor remained closed. A 6 p.m.-to-6 a.m. curfew was put into effect in the open towns.

Most barrier island towns in Ocean County remained closed to the pubic including Long Beach Island where only government contractors and emergency personnel are being allowed in.

Here is a list of towns we know have allowed residents in to survey damage (some could have curfews in effect so check with the local municipality before going):

Atlantic County:

Cape May County:
Cape May
North Wildwood
Ocean City
Sea Isle City
Stone Harbor
Wildwood Crest

Contact Us