Carson Wentz Voted Ed Block Courage Award Winner by Teammates

Carson Wentz, who returned to quarterback the Eagles just 9 1/2 months after suffering a severe knee injury, has been voted by his teammates as the Eagles' 2018 winner of the prestigious Ed Block Courage Award.

The award is given annually to a player who shows dedication to his team and exhibits great sportsmanship after overcoming a serious injury or adversity to perform at a high level.

"It means a lot," Wentz said. "It's something you hope you don't get the chance to win because it means you were injured, but being voted on by your teammates, it's a cool award and what it stands for. I'm very appreciative of my teammates for voting for me."

Wentz joins former Eagles such as Chad Lewis, Andre Waters, Wes Hopkins, Jerome Brown, Correll Buckhalter, Jon Dorenbos, Duce Staley and Mike Quick as Ed Block winners.

Despite a poor game Sunday in New Orleans, Wentz is enjoying a very good season coming off ACL surgery on his knee.

He's completing a franchise-record 69.5 percent of his passes, has the 10th-highest passer rating in the league at 100.1 and despite missing the first two games of the season is on pace to throw for over 4,000 yards.

Ed Block was the Colts' trainer from 1954 through 1977 after earning a Purple Heart in the Army under General Patton in the tank corps in World War II.

Philadelphia Eagles

Complete coverage of the Philadelphia Eagles and their NFL rivals from NBC Sports Philadelphia.

Saquon Barkley has something he's never had before and he's loving it

Eagles star Jordan Mailata on the importance of AANHPI representation in NFL

Each NFL team selects its own Ed Block Courage Award winner, and an overall Ed Block winner is announced at the annual Ed Block Courage banquet held in Baltimore in the spring.

For more on the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation, click here.

Here's a list of all Eagles Ed Block Courage Award winners:

2018 - Carson Wentz
2017 - Joe Walker
2016 - Nolan Carroll
2015 - Fletcher Cox
2014 - Jeremy Maclin
2013 - Jason Kelce
2012 - Colt Anderson
2011 - Mike Patterson
2010 - Jason Avant
2009 - Michael Vick
2008 - Jon Dorenbos
2007 - Montae Reagor
2006 - Jerome McDougle
2005 - Chad Lewis
2004 - Derrick Burgess
2003 - Correll Buckhalter
2002 - Shawn Barber
2001 - Duce Staley & Tommy Brasher
2000 - Cecil Martin
1999 - Mike Mamula
1998 - Bobby Taylor
1997 - Rhett Hall
1996 - Kevin Turner
1995 - Charlie Garner
1994 - Fred Barnett
1993 - Andre Waters
1992 - Jerome Brown
1991 - David Alexander
1990 - Ron Solt
1989 - Mike Quick
1988 - Wes Hopkins
1987 - Gerry Feehery
1986 - Jody Schultz
1985 - Ron Jaworski
1984 - John Spagnola

Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Flyers, Sixers and Phillies games easily on your device.

More on the Eagles

Copyright CSNPhily
Contact Us