Rhodes Rules: 3 Scholars Have Pennsylvania Ties

32 picked from more than 750 applicants

Pennsylvania can claim three of this year's 32 Rhodes Scholars.

The scholarship trust announced the recipients early Sunday. They were picked from 769 applicants endorsed by 207 colleges and universities nationwide.

Three of the winners either live in Pennsylvania, or go to school in the state.

Caitlin E. Mullarkey, of Wilmington, Del., attends Swarthmore College in suburban Philadelphia.

Abigail P. Seldin, of Tierra Verde, Fla., attends the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

York resident Gregory E. Lippiatt attends the Virginia Military Institute.

The students will enter Oxford University in England next October. The scholarships provide two or three years of study.

The List

The 32 American students chosen as Rhodes Scholars for 2009, listed by geographic region:

District I:

Matthew L. Gethers III, Waterbury, Conn., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Rakim H. D. Brooks, Bronx, N.Y., Brown University

District II:

Joshua A. Lospinoso, Sparta, N.J., United States Military Academy
Timothy A. Nunan, Palos Verdes, Calif., Princeton University

District III:

David L. V. Bauer, Bronx, N.Y., City College of New York
R. Jisung Park, Shelton, Conn., Columbia University

District IV:

Caitlin E. Mullarkey, Wilmington, Del., Swarthmore College
Abigail P. Seldin, Tierra Verde, Fla., University of Pennsylvania

District V:

Scott M. Moore, Louisville, Ky., Princeton University
Anthony Chase Palisch, Calvert City, Ky., Centre College

District VI:

Aisha I. Saad, Cary, N.C., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Alia Whitney-Johnson, Leicester, N.C., MIT

District VII:

Julia Parker Goyer, Birmingham, Ala., Duke University
Myron L. Rolle, Princeton, N.J., Florida State University

District VIII:

Stephen J. Hammer, Carrollton, Texas, Princeton
Malorie N. Snider, Friendswood, Texas, Harvard University

District IX:

Lucas M. Brown, Leesburg, Va., Oberlin College
Gregory E. Lippiatt, York, Pa., Virginia Military Institute

District X:

Sarah B. Kleinman, Indianapolis, Ind., Stanford University
Anna Yermakova, Buffalo Grove, Ill., Northwestern University

District XI:

Vincent M. Hofer, Franklin, Kan., Kansas State University
Shadrack T. White, Sandersville, Miss., University of Mississippi

District XII:

Abdulrahman M. El-Sayed, Ann Arbor, Mich., University of Michigan
Brian J. Krohn, Cloquet, Minn., Augsburg College

District XIII:

Noelle R. Lopez, Tucson, Ariz., Santa Clara University
Jarrad M. Aguirre, Centennial, Colo., Yale University

District XIV:

Lindsay M. Whorton, Independence, Mo., Drake University
Ashley L. Nord, Rapid City, S.D., University of Minnesota

District XV:

Mallory A. Dwinal, Gig Harbor, Wash., Northwestern
Kyle Q. Haddad-Fonda, Issaquah, Wash., Harvard

District XVI:

Scott W. Hugo, Alamo, Calif., University of California, Los Angeles
Christopher D. Joseph, Santa Barbara, Calif., UCLA

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us