The First Phillies Lineup of 2019 Season as Opening Day Arrives

Phillies manager Gabe Kapler has posted his opening day lineup.

It's the same one he used in the final Grapefruit League game on Monday.

Here it is:

1. Andrew McCutchen, LF
2. Jean Segura, SS
3. Bryce Harper, LF
4. Rhys Hoskins, 1B
5. J.T. Realmuto, C
6. Odubel Herrera, CF
7. Cesar Hernandez, 2B
8. Maikel Franco, 3B
9. Aaron Nola, P

Four of the top five spots in the batting order are occupied by decorated newcomers. Leadoff man McCutchen and cleanup man Harper are both former National League MVPs. Segura, the No. 2 hitter, is a former NL hits leader, and Realmuto, the No. 5 man, is widely considered the best all-around catcher in baseball.

The improved depth in the Phillies' lineup is reflected in the No. 8 spot, where Maikel Franco will hit. Last season, he led the team with a .270 batting average, was second in OPS at .780 and third in home runs at 22.

"With the guys we've got, there's really not a break in our lineup," Jake Arrieta said, who will pitch Sunday night. "It's going to be fun."

Nola, who finished third in the NL Cy Young voting last season, is making his second straight opening day start. He is 7-3 with a 2.09 ERA in 12 career starts against the Atlanta Braves.

First pitch is 3:05 p.m.

Click here to download the MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Flyers, Sixers and Phillies games easily on your device.

More on the Phillies

Copyright CSNPhily
Contact Us