Pop Warner Champs Roll Down Broad Street

Mayor Michael Nutter, city officials and community partners honored the North Philly Blackhawks and the Frankford Chargers, the Pop Warner League football champions.

The city celebrated with an old fashioned parade on Saturday around 2 p.m.

The teams rode on trolleys from North Broad Street all the way to Play Field on 11th Street.

At the field, Mayor Nutter honored the two teams with citations to honor their victories.

On Dec. 11, the North Philly Blackhawks won the 2010 National Super Bowl Championship at Disney’s Wide World of Sports Complex in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

The Chargers won the 2010 Pee Wee Division One Championship.

Contact Us