Condoleezza Rice Named to College Football Selection Panel - NBC 10 Philadelphia

Condoleezza Rice Named to College Football Selection Panel



    5 Signs of a Good Nursing Home (and 5 Warning Signs)
    Getty Images for TIME
    Former US secretary of the State and professor Condoleezza Rice at the TIME Summit On Higher Education Day 1 at Time Warner Center on September 19, 2013 in New York City. (Photo by Bryan Bedder/Getty Images for TIME)

    Former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, former Nebraska coach Tom Osborne and Hall of Fame quarterback Archie Manning are among the 13 people who will be part of the College Football Playoff selection committee in 2014.

    The selection committee was officially unveiled Wednesday, though the names of the members were reported last week by The Associated Press and other media outlets. Earlier this week, Arkansas Athletic Director Jeff Long was announced as the chairman of the first committee for the new playoff system that starts next year.

    Long and BCS Executive Director Bill Hancock announced the members at a news conference.

    The committee also includes five current athletic directors, including Long, former Notre Dame, Stanford and Washington coach Tyrone Willingham, and former Big East Commissioner Mike Tranghese.