This New Year will bring not only a clean slate and fresh start but fire-safe cigarettes for all the draggers buying smokes from the state of Delaware.
A new law requires that all cigarettes sold in Delaware, starting January 1, must be fire-safe. Fire-safe meaning the cigarettes should extinguish themselves in about 15 to 20 seconds if not smoked.
If vendors don’t comply and continue to sell the old-fashioned stooges, they could be fined as much as $1,000 for their first offense and a maximum fine of $5,000 for any offense after that.
Currently there are 20 states that have passed fire-safety legislation including Pennsylvania, who signed the bill into law in July of 2008. The law is set to be effective January 1, 2009 right alongside Delaware.
Breaking news and the stories that matter to your neighborhood.