New Jersey

Anne Hathaway, Cissy Houston, Eli Manning Headed for NJ Hall of Fame

Some notable people are being inducted to the New Jersey Hall of Fame

Super Bowl champion Eli Manning, Grammy Award-winning singer Cissy Houston and “Good Times” actor John Amos are among this year's inductees into the New Jersey Hall of Fame.

The winners for the Hall's 12th class were announced Wednesday morning.

Others known as the state's best and brightest include Oscar-winner Anne Hathaway, author Fran Lebowitz and Fairleigh Dickinson, benefactor of the university named after him.

Poet and journalist Joyce Kilmer, who has had a New Jersey Turnpike rest stop plaza named after her for years, will also be inducted into the new class. She lived in New Brunswick.

“These Garden State heroes perfectly represent what makes our state great,” says Jon Hanson, chairman of the Hall of Fame.

In the category of arts and entertainment, inductees also include film star Danny Aiello, who appears in “Do The Right Thing,” The Godfather Part II” and “The Last Don.” He lived in Ramsey and Saddle River.

Others are singer-songwriter Mary Chapin Carpenter, of Princeton; actor Ed Harris, of Tenafly; comedian Ernie Kovacs, of Trenton; TV stars Ozzie, Harriet and Ricky Nelson, of Jersey City; and comedian Flip Wilson, of Jersey City.


Breaking news and the stories that matter to your neighborhood.

A likely heat wave for the week ahead. What to know

Man's body pulled from Schuylkill River in Philadelphia

Houston and Amos are from Newark, and Hathaway is from Millburn.

In addition to Manning, who lives in Summit, sports inductees include: NBA star Rick Barry, of Roselle Park; boxer Gerry Cooney, of Fanwood; former Rutgers athletic director Robert Mulcahy III, of Mendham; and head Rutgers women's basketball coach Vivian Stringer, of Piscataway.

Inductees in the category of public service include: Apgar score inventor Dr. Virginia Apgar, of Westfield; former CEO of St. Joseph's Health Sister Jane Brady, of Paterson; former Army Gen. Martin Dempsey, of Jersey City; former Gov. Alfred Driscoll, of Haddonfield; and Nobel Prize-winning economist Milton Friedman, of Rahway.

In the arts and letters category: Addams Family creator Charles Addams, of Westfield; “The Red Badge of Courage” author Stephen Crane, of Newark; longtime Star-Ledger editor Mort Pye, of Tewksbury; Lebowitz, of Morristown; and Kilmer.

Inductees in the enterprise category include: The Borg Family, of Hackensack, publishers of The Record; regional PNC Bank president Linda Bowden, of East Brunswick; car and truck company chairman Steve Kalafer; former chairman of the New Jersey Turnpike Authority Joseph Simunovich, of West New York; and Dickinson, of Rutherford.

Several of the honors are awarded posthumously.

This year's induction ceremony will be Oct. 18. Because of the pandemic, it will be a virtual, prerecorded event broadcast on television, radio and social media.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us